Thursday, 4 August 2016

US Ban 20 States In Nigeria

The American government has issued a travel ban on 20 Nigerian states, over security fears in the affected areas.

The American government feel that the Nigerian army cannot guarantee the safety of her citizens, hence issued the travel ban.

The states affected are; Adamawa, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Borno, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara.

The American government also stated that only essential travel will be allowed to these areas.

The travel warning has been given due to the “risk of kidnappings, robberies and other armed attacks.”

The statement said, “Security measures in Nigeria remain heightened due to threats posed by extremist groups, and U.S. citizens may encounter police and military checkpoints, additional security and possible road blocks throughout the country. “Hundreds of thousands of Nigerians have been displaced as a result of violence in the north.”


No comments :

Post a comment